About Us

ART Launch

Armagh Rural Transport (ART) has been operating since March 2000 and have an operational area of all of County Armagh. ART is a not-for-Profit Company, Limited by Guarantee and a Charity organisation for our members who have difficulty accessing services due to lack of transport or other mobility issues.

Our aim is to provide accessible, affordable and efficient Community Transport to people who would otherwise be socially or rurally isolated. We are a member’s only organisation. Our individual membership is £10 per year and available to anyone living in a rural area – outside of Armagh town. Additional qualifying criteria are that you do not have access to a car or access to public transport. Group membership is £30 per year for community groups and £50 per year for statutory bodies. We are governed by a management committee of 10 voluntary Directors who have a wealth of experience in the community and transport sector.

Art AreasART have a total of 10 staff members ranging from Drivers to Office Workers. ART also have a total of 7 Volunteers who either drivers their own vehicles for ART or work in the office and numerous other volunteers who drive the Minibuses for their nominated groups. ART currently have 167 Group Members and 368 Individuals and around 2,000 passenger trips completed on a monthly basis. Our core service is the Dial a Lift Service.

We receive funding from the Department for Infrastructure. The DfI also work in conjunction with DAERA to support the Assisted Rural Travel Service (ARTS) which allows our members to use a valid SMARTPASS on our Dial a Lift Service.  Refer to page 3 of the linked document.
We also provide Group Transport for Community/Voluntary/Sports/Church groups. These groups can hire one of our vehicles with their own driver or our driver at very competitive rates. Click here for more details.

We provide driver training to enable group drivers to gain suitable standards required to drive a minibus. Click here for more details on Driver training.

ART’s catchment areas include; Charlemont, Loughgall, Hockley, Richhill, Ballymartrim, Laurelvale, Tandragee, Hamiltonsbawn, Poyntzpass, Markethill, Killeen, Carrigatuke, Derrynoose, Milford, Killylea.